You are here

University courses with CAA exemptions

If you complete a degree at one of the universities below you may be eligible for exemption from some of the Certified Actuarial Analyst (CAA) exams

This will depend on the modules you take, and the grades you obtain:

  • accredited programmes can lead to exemptions based on your overall performance during the course
  • other degree courses can lead to exemptions from individual CAA exams.

Once you become a Student Actuarial Analyst you will need to formally apply for your exemptions and pay the exemption fee for each subject.

We cannot advise you on the degree course, or the options, which you need to take to become a Certified Actuarial Analyst

Our best advice is that you should take a course where your abilities are the strongest.

The exemption agreements that we have with the universities are based on information that they have provided to us. If you are considering applying for one of these courses, we recommend that you contact the university for further information. A university may decide not to run some of their modules, and their own website will give more details on current modules offered.

Am I eligible for exemption?

The universities that we currently have agreements with are:
Cairo University Cass Business School
Central University of Finance and Economics (CUFE), China Chinese University of Hong Kong
City University London Dublin City University
Heriot-Watt University Imperial College London
Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata Lancaster University
London School of Economics (LSE) Nanyang Technological University
National University of Ireland, Galway Newcastle University
Queen Mary, University of London Queen's University Belfast
Said Business School, Oxford Southwestern University of Finance and Economics (SWUFE), China
UCSI University, Malaysia Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) Malaysia
University College Cork University College Dublin
University of Birmingham University of Bristol
University of East Anglia University of Essex
University of Hong Kong University of International Business and Economics (UIBE), China
University of Kent University of Leeds
University of Leicester University of Limerick
University of Lisbon University of Liverpool
University of Manchester University of Nottingham
University of Oxford University of Southampton
University of Stirling University of Technology, Mauritius
University of Warwick University of Waterloo
University of York University of Zambia
Zhongnan University of Economics and Law  

Related documents

Contact Details

Education Services Team

Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, 1st Floor, Park Central, 40/41 Park End Street, Oxford, OX1 1JD

+44 01865 268207

We aim to respond to all enquiries within two working days.